Bradenton Theft Offenses
While seemingly minor, theft offenses should be handled very carefully, as they are a “crime of dishonesty” that can have long lasting impacts. Generally speaking, a theft occurs when someone is intentionally deprived of their property, even if it is only temporary.
Under Florida law, if the value of the alleged stolen property is less than $300.00, you may be charged with petit theft, a misdemeanor for first time offenders. Petit theft is the most common charge for those accused of stealing from retail stores. It is typical for law enforcement to use surveillance tapes and interviews with loss prevention personnel to prove their case. Prosecutors can even charge someone as a principal to the theft even if they themselves did not take any merchandise.
If the value of the property taken was over $300.00, you may be charged with grand theft, a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison. Additionally, if the property is not recovered, you could be responsible to pay restitution to the alleged victim of the theft. It is important to speak to an attorney who can review your options with you. The Bradenton criminal defense attorneys at Fowler Law Group have extensive experience prosecuting and defending those charged with theft offenses. Call today for information about what you can do to prevent a conviction for a crime of dishonesty from appearing on your record.
In Florida, burglary in its most simple form is defined as the “entering of a dwelling, structure, or conveyance” (usually meaning a vehicle) with the intent to commit an offense within the dwelling, structure or conveyance. The law also allows for a presumption of intent to commit an offense if the entering of the dwelling, structure or conveyance was done in a secret manner without the permission of the owner of the property. Burglary is always a felony, and the seriousness of the offense increases if the offender is accused of burglarizing a dwelling. The stakes get even higher if the dwelling was occupied, and worse if the defendant is accused of being armed while committing the burglary. Burglary in its various forms is a serious matter in the State of Florida, and the State Attorney routinely seeks prison time for those accused of burglary. The State usually relies on witness testimony, physical evidence, such as DNA and fingerprints, and sometimes may even attempt to tell a Jury about a past crime that you were accused of if it was factually similar. It is important to contact an experienced team of lawyers who can evaluate the evidence that the State has against you and help place you in the best position possible to fight this serious charge.
Florida has an increasing level of punishments for those who are accused of scheming to defraud. Florida Defines “Scheming to Defraud” as a “systematic, ongoing course of conduct with intent to defraud one or more persons, or with intent to obtain property from one or more persons by false or fraudulent pretenses, representations, or promises, or willful misrepresentations of a future act.” Organized fraud that results in the acquiring of property valued at $50,000 or more is guilty of a first-degree felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison. Between $20,000 and $49,999 is a second degree felony punishable by 15 years in prison, and any amount less than $20,000 is considered a third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison. Should the defendant engage in a scheme to defraud, and in furtherance of the scheme communicate with any person with the intent to obtain property from that person, the defendant is guilty of communications fraud punishable by up to 5 years in prison of the value of the property obtained (or attempted to be obtained) is $300 or more. If the property is worth less than $300, the charge is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by 11 months 29 days in the county jail.
What To Expect When Hiring Our Office
HAVE YOU RECENTLY FACED LEGAL ISSUES? WE CAN HELP!
Fowler Law Group proudly represents the citizens of Sarasota and Manatee Counties as well as the surrounding Tampa Bay area. Our experienced team will help guide you through the judicial process and answer all of your questions with honesty and integrity. We understand the important nature of your call, and we will strive to return all calls within 24 hours. Contact us today by completing our online form or calling us at 941-404-8909.